## Suicide Facts & Figures:

## Georgia 2019\*





On average, one person dies by suicide every six hours in the state.

Nearly four times as many people died by suicide in Georgia in 2017 than in alcohol related motor vehicle accidents.

The total deaths to suicide reflect a total of 30,250 years of potential life lost (YPLL) before age 65.



Suicide cost Georgia a total of \$1,318,204,000 combined lifetime medical and work loss cost in 2010, or an average of \$1,163,463 per suicide death



# leading cause of death in Georgia

#### 3rd leading

cause of death for ages 15-24

#### 2nd leading

cause of death for ages 25-34

#### 4th leading

cause of death for ages 35-54

#### 10th leading

cause of death for ages 55-64

#### 17th leading

cause of death for ages 65 & older

### **Suicide Death Rates**

	Number of Deaths by Suicide	Rate per 100,000 Population	State Rank
Georgia	1,451	13.59	39
Nationally	47,173	14.00	



<sup>\*</sup>Based on most recent 2017 data from CDC. Learn more at afsp.org/statistics.

## Suicide Facts & Figures: Georgia 2019

#### **Suicide Prevention Programs and Initiatives**

- Georgia's Suicide Prevention Program (https://dbhdd.georgia.gov/suicide-prevention) was created by statute (§37-1-27) and is housed within the Office of Behavioral Health Prevention, Division of Behavioral Health at the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities. Georgia law requires the Suicide Prevention Program to coordinate with and receive technical assistance from the Department of Public Health to support data collection, research, and outreach efforts.
- Georgia's current suicide prevention plan covers the years 2015-2022. Titled Suicide Safer Communities in Georgia - 2015 Georgia Strategy for Suicide Prevention: Goals and Objectives for Action, it can be found online at https://bit.ly/2FyFVhB.
- The Georgia Crisis & Access Line (GCAL, 1-800-715-4225, www.mygcal.com) is a statewide toll-free call center for consumers to access mental health and substance abuse services.
- Georgia law (§37-1-27) encourages suicide prevention training and the provision of minimal screening tools for clergy and correctional workers, and improved suicide prevention education for nurses, judges, physician assistants, social workers, psychologists, and other counselors.
- Georgia law (§20-2-779.1, The Jason Flatt Act) requires all certificated public school personnel to receive annual training in suicide awareness and prevention. The law also requires each local school system to adopt a policy on student suicide prevention, intervention, and postvention and the Department of Education to establish a model policy for use by local school systems. A list of approved trainings and the DOE model policy can be found at https://bit.ly/2lmoa7w.

## **Get Involved**

The **AFSP Georgia Chapter** brings together people of all backgrounds in communities throughout the state to fight suicide. We help fund research, offer educational programs, advocate for public policy and support those affected by suicide.

For more information or to volunteer. please contact:

**AFSP Georgia** georgia@afsp.org

#### **Become an Advocate**

AFSP's Georgia advocacy volunteers build relationships with public officials and advocate on behalf of sound suicide prevention policy.

Visit afsp.org/advocate to sign up!

